DIY Yogurt, Nutella and a Bag of Ice

Crockpot Yogurt

This day has gotten away from me.  My DIY projects are not cooperating with me.

I thought I was going to start the “Homemade Yogurt” DIY last night but realized I didn’t have enough milk.  I saw castor oil ( a main ingredient in the DIY face wash) at Publix yesterday but thought it was too expensive.  “Surely I can find it at Walmart tomorrow for dirt cheap”, I told myself.  I went to Walmart before Bible study and the castor oil was out of stock.  Seriously?  I checked another Publix on the way home from Bible study and it wasn’t there either.

I decided to try the yogurt recipe this afternoon and realized, “Oh, yeah.  This is one of those overnight projects.”  So I won’t be able to tell you about the results today.  In summary, my plans for this post fell apart.  That’s kind of how things have been since Saturday.  I’m still getting back on track.

So here is a picture of the ingredients I am using for my DIY “Homemade Yogurt” .  The recipe is at Mom On A Mission.

The instant vanilla yogurt will be used as a thickener and for flavor.  If I had used whole milk I wouldn’t have needed it but I don’t like the taste of whole milk yogurt and neither do my kids.  I did not include the coffee filter that I will need to strain the whey.  I still have to get one since I forgot that too.  Like I said, things have been a little “off” since Saturday.

Today, I began the first steps:

1) cook the milk in a crock pot on low for 2 1/2 hours

2) unplug the crockpot and let the milk sit for 3 hours   ( this is the step I am on as I type)

3) remove 1/2 cup milk and add 1 cup of store bought yogurt ( this will be the only time store bought is needed as I will need to put 1/2 cup of this yogurt aside as a starter for the next batch of homemade yogurt)  Whisk the milk and yogurt together.

4) add 1 box of instant vanilla pudding

5) pour mixture back into crockpot and whisk together

6) put the lid back on and keep unplugged

7) cover with a heavy towel and wrap it all the way around.  Let it sit overnight.

Start your engine Mr. Crockpot

Tomorrow I will follow the rest of the steps and take pictures.  Isn’t this exciting?

I’m being a bit sarcastic but honestly, I have enjoyed trying these DIY projects.  I’m learning new things and even if a project doesn’t go well, at least I have the satisfaction of having tried something new.

Miscellaneous

I was so excited to see something organic at Aldi on Monday.  I am attempting to recreate one of my favorite foods at Starbucks: greek yogurt with pumpkin flax granola and honey.  This is one of the breakfasts I usually choose at Starbucks during my “Mommy Time Out” before I go grocery shopping.  It is delicious.  When I saw this at Aldi I thought that I may be able to make the same thing at home.  The verdict: it is similar but not quite right.  My version is sufficient as a quick snack though.  And I am glad to have supported Aldi’s attempt at bringing organic food into their stores.  Go Aldi!

On the left is a new family favorite: Nutella.  It is yummy!  I put about a tablespoon in a bowl and dip a couple of pretzels in it.  I  would like to try it on strawberries next.  Michael heard through a guest at the bar that his friend Lance Armstrong eats this regularly for a snack. I don’t blame him.

I got back into shopping at multiple grocery stores in January in an attempt to lower my grocery bill.  My problem was how to keep the cold food purchased at store #1 cold by the time I was done shopping at store #5.  Food spoilage-particularly that of my meat purchases- is not a savings.  More importantly, I didn’t want to give anyone food poisoning.

I decided to bring my cooler and buy a bag of ice to go in with all the cold items I stored there.  When I get home from grocery shopping, I put the bag of ice in our garage freezer to be used again during the next week’s shopping trip.  I have had that bag since January.  That was a well spent $1.50!

And this is a picture of my four year old’s best friend, from her perspective.  Apparently she nabbed my camera when I wasn’t looking and took a series of pictures of our dog Arthur.  I found the photos when I downloaded my pictures today.  She adores that pup.

Just thought I would share.

Tune in tomorrow for what I hope will be the successful results of DIY “Homemade Yogurt”.

 

Leave a Reply

