Homemade Pizza Dough -March DIY

March’s second DIY project was homemade pizza dough.  Since the weekend usually contains a pizza night for families, I thought I would share the results of our project in case you want to try your hand at making homemade pizza dough too.

As you can see in the picture above, the mild winter did not damage our herbs.  I had plenty of fresh oregano to pick from our garden.  My husband had recently made spaghetti sauce.  He used pork sausage and ground beef for the meatballs which made the sauce really tasty.  I decided to use the leftover sauce for our pizza.  I bought pizza dough yeast packets for just a couple cents at Kroger.  I bought the mozzarella for $2.69? at Aldi.  Therefore, our pizza was extremely inexpensive.

If you have never made pizza dough before I can tell you that the directions on the “Fleischmann’s Pizza Crust Yeast” packet are right on.  After you have combined all the ingredients and then begin to add another 1/2 cup of flour, the ball of soft dough that forms really is “slightly sticky”.  We added even more flour because every time we kneaded the dough it became sticky again.  The dough really does become “smooth and elastic”.  I found this to be a really strange feeling as did Little Man.  The whole process was really cool and now I want to try my hand at bread-making.  The kids wanted me to mention that the yeast is really stinky.  Somehow some of my photos disappeared and the picture of them holding their noses was one of them. 😦

Anyway, we topped off the sauce, mozzarella, and oregano with a sprinkle of olive oil and here was the result of our homemade pizz dough efforts:

YUM!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Kelly Rounds on April 13, 2012 at 6:55 pm

    Looks fresh and delicious! Still trying to find good pizza in Miami which is challenging!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

