Little Man VS Food

Ingredients

When we moved to Georgia almost eight years ago I experienced my very first taste of wings.  I was hooked.

Since then I always thought of wings as an occasional treat because they are so high calorie.  However, recently I found a recipe for “Broiled Buffalo Wings” in an issue of Fitness Magazine that may have changed the frequency with which I can eat wings.

Little Man has observed my passion for wings and pretty much anything spicy.  He decided last Tuesday when I ventured to make this recipe, that he too was going to join in on the fun.

I warned him that they were spicy.  We have watched a number of “Man vs. Food” episodes that he thought were great.  I think in Little Man’s mind, this was going to be his own food challenge.

Game on!

Here’s the recipe from Fitness Magazine, the February 2012 issue:

2 lbs chicken wings

1/4 cayenne pepper sauce (like Frank’s Red Hot)

1T freshly squeezed lemon juice

3 T low sodium chicken broth

3 large celery stalks, cut into sticks

1. Preheat the broiler. Place wings in a large pot and fill with water to cover by about 2 inches.  Bring to a boil; continue boiling for 10 minutes. Drain.

2. Meanwhile, in a small bowl, combine cayenne pepper sauce, lemon juice, and chicken broth.

3. Transfer wings to a broiler pan and broil, 5-6 inches from the flame, until skin begins to blister and brown, 5-6 minutes. Turn wings over and broil 4-5 minutes more.

4. Transfer wings to a baking sheet and drizzle with reserved sauce and toss well to coat.  Place baking sheet under broiler 1 minute to heat wings and sauce. Serve with celery sticks.

Fitness magazine says, “When you boil the wings, most of the fat from the skin ends up in the water, says Ellie Krieger, chef and TV host. “More fat drips off during broiling.”

Wings, corn bread and green beans. Yum!

Little Man made sure that his wings were coated with sauce.  In fact, he went back to the kitchen counter to recoat the wings on his plate.

Little Man: “Mommy these are wings from heaven.  (Smacking lips sound.) These are so good.”

Little Man thoroughly coated with sauce

Five minutes into his feast, Little Man’s response changes…

Little Man: “Mom, these are the wings from he**. ” He is beginning to look for a napkin to wipe his mouth but he is still feeling proud.

Me: “Little Man, I’m so glad you like them.  Yeah, they are hot.  Do you remember when the “Man vs. Food” guy ate all those spicy foods, huge pizzas, etc?  This is like your own ‘Little Man vs Food’.”

He smiles and I take a picture as he gives the victory sign as if to say, “I conquered the wings!”

"I am a champion"

 

2 minutes later tears begin to form in his eyes.

He is taking his napkin to the sink and soaking it with water, frantically trying to rub the sauce off of his lips as now the burn has taken full effect.

Me: “Honey are you okay? What is going on?”

Little Man (now bursting into tears): “My lips hurt, I can’t get it off! Get it off of me Mommy!”

Me: “Okay, I’m so sorry, let’s get some milk….some bread….it’s gonna be alright.  I ‘m so proud of you for trying.”

 

And that is when I felt like the worst parent in the world.  How could I let my kid coat his wings in sauce and not think that he was going to be in pain?! Duh?!

I felt like such a jerk.  The pain did go away but it was awful for him.  I’m so used to spicy food I must have forgotten what it was like.

Moral of the story: don’t let your kids eat spicy stuff unless you have a fire extinguisher for their mouths.

But still, try the wing recipe.  They were delicious!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by pete on March 20, 2012 at 8:48 am

    Ha! Good stuff…my daughter kayla loves spicy food. Bleau cheese goes great with hot wings and helps cut down the heat. Def trying this recipe

    Reply

Leave a Reply

