When Things Don’t Turn Out the Way You Anticipated

I thought someone might appreciate this quote from Richard Blackaby’s “Experiencing God Day-By-Day”:

“Rarely does God do something exactly as we think He will….Moses experienced this as he learned how God was going to deliver the Hebrews out of Egypt.  God told him he would harden Pharoah’s heart.  Yet the result was not what Moses anticipated.  Rather than allowing the Hebrews to leave, Pharoah increased their hardship .  Rather than becoming a hero among the Hebrews, Moses was despised by them for bringing greater suffering.  Moses returned to the Lord and asked, ‘Lord, why have you brought trouble on this people?  Why is it you have sent me?’….

Have you ever done the will of God and then things seemed to become worse? Moses completely misunderstood what the results of his obedience to God would be.  When things did not turn out as he anticipated, Moses became discouraged.  God had told Moses what to do, but he had not told Moses what the consequences would be.

It is foolish to attempt to do God’s work using your own “common sense.”  God does not eliminate your common sense, He consecrates it.  He gives you wisdom so you can understand His ways.”

Dear Lord, I confess that I often approach the circumstances of my life with mortal, limited eye sight.  I see what I want to see rather than what is really true.  I have failed to trust that You have my best in mind.  Help me to accept and submit my will to Your plan: to take me through “the valley of the shadow of death ” (the consequences of my choices or the death of my flesh) to the “still waters”and “green pastures ” of Your plan to cause things to work together for my good and produce less of me and more of You in my character.  Please help me not to fight the surgery You are performing on my heart and life.  Help me to walk in faith again, believing that You see the end plan and that You can be trusted with the journey.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen

Leave a Reply

