Infuse Me

You are probably very familiar with the verse Philippians 4:13:

I can do all things through Him  who gives me strength.

In the book “Calm My Anxious Heart”, Linda Dallow shares a mental picture that is a refreshing take on that scripture.

She uses the translation of a greek scholar, Kenneth Wuest, to explain her idea.  His translation is worded this way:

I am strong for all things in the One who constantly infuses strength in me.

 

This is what she goes on to say:

” At all times and in all circumstances, Christ is able and willing to provide the strength we need to be content.  Contentment occurs when Christ’s strength is infused into my weak body, soul, and spirit.  To infuse means to pour, fill, soak, or extract.  Every morning when I dip my herbal tea bag into boiling water, I witness infusion.  How does God enable us to be content?  He infuses contentment into us through His Word.  As it seeps into our minds, it transforms us.  Just as a cup of tea gets stronger when we give it time to steep, so we become more content when we spend time in God’s word and allow it to seep into our lives, transforming us to be like Him.”

Isn’t that awesome?

This advice isn’t just for finding contentment but applies to all the areas of our lives that need to be transformed into Christ’s likeness.  I don’t know about you, but I need patience, forbearance, wisdom, love, endurance….The only One who possesses those qualities is God.  I need His patience, forbearance, wisdom, love, endurance to infuse ME.

The Holy Spirit was doing His job in my heart this morning, reminding me of what I am and what I need.  My mind is always taking things in.  Am I filling it with meaningless entartainment, feeding it resentful thoughts, worrying it with concern..

OR am I going to intentionally fill it with scripture verses, Christ honoring music, and godly entertainment.

I am going to be intentional in my choices this day so that my mind, and thus my heart, can be infused with all that Christ wants for me and will be equipped for what this day holds for me.

I need all that You are Lord, please infuse me.

Leave a Reply

