Update on the DIY Laundry Detergent

The laundry detergent

 Here is an update on the DIY laundry detergent:

It definitely cleans our clothes.  The consistency is a bit like jam.  I have to pour it on the clothes rather than put it in the opening for liquid laundry detergent. 

I poured some on one of our cloth napkins so you could get a closer look at it.

The containers that I am storing it in have a strange white crust around their lids.  Apparently some of the liquid is evaporating.  It isn’t harming anything. 

I am still using the same bottle that I began with so I would say it is lasting about the same amount of time as the store bought detergent I have used in the past. 

Overall, it is nice to not have laundry detergent on my grocery list.  The consistency has taken a little getting used to.  The laundry detergent seems to be lasting awhile.  I think this will make the little bit of effort in preparing it, worthwhile.  I won’t have to do it very often throughout the year.  The only thing I would change is that next time I will use different containers.  The old laundry bottle is great, but the vinegar bottle is so bulky it will make pouring difficult at first.

I think this was a pretty successful DIY. 

In March my DIY projects will be dishwasher detergent and homemade pizza dough.  Both of  those projects will be great cost cutters for us.  We prefer Publix’s fresh pizza dough, but the cost adds up when you add turkey pepperoni on top of it. 

I better begin saving bottles for the dishwashing detergent!

What is that crusty stuff?

Stay tuned……

Leave a Reply

