No Use Crying Over Spilled Beans

It’s 7:48am on Friday morning and I’m sitting at Starbucks enjoying a Mommy Time Out while eating my budgeted “blow” money in the form of an egg, bacon, cheese sandwich and a Komodo (always the dark blend) tall  coffee- room for cream and a little sugar.

I’ve been up since 5:45am even though I would have preferred to sleep in.  Yesterday I had to take a nap- and I’m not the napping kind- because my body would just.not.go.one.step.further.

As I was lying there on the couch, little girl came over, picked up my arm, and tucked her warm little body underneath, falling fast asleep as only little children, teenagers, and men can do.  (Okay, everyone else but me.  It’s such a curse.)  I think I may have actually slept deeply for five minutes yesterday however.  What a blessing.  But I digress.

I have two books assigned for January 2012, “Eat That Frog” and “Money, Possessions, and Eternity”. I finished “Eat That Frog” on Tuesday.   Awesome book. The “Money” book isn’t going  as well.

I have turned “Money, Possessions, and Eternity” into my focus for personal Bible study this week because this book has been so incredibly convicting that I find myself inspecting my heart and praying over what I find- the good and the bad-  as I turn each page.  I feel it is totally appropriate as Bible study material.  I just wish I had started using it this way a little earlier in the month.

If I had looked at the table of contents at the beginning of the month and seen how long this book is, I would not have had this problem of coming up short on time.  I’ll be chaulking this up as a lesson learned in budgeting my time and breaking a goal up into bite size pieces.

Perhaps I will actually look at the total number of pages before I begin reading the books for February.

Tuesday night I began my second DIY project, soaking beans.  I put the beans in a large pot and added water according to the directions.  Then they sat there on the counter over night.   “This should be easy”, I thought.

Next day I drained the beans and rinsed them.  I decided to use them in a refried beans recipe I found on the internet.  I just didn’t have the time to get them started until the late afternoon.  No problem, I will have plenty of time.

The recipe called for the beans to be brought to a boil and then simmered for 1 1/2 to 2 hours.  “Don’t let them dry out”, the recipe warns.  Okay, I add more liquid, especially because the beans don’t look any different then they did at the beginning and I’m already an hour into the cooking time.

Two hours have passed and I spoon out a bean to test.  It still seems just as hard as it was before I began cooking.

I call my husband.  I always call my husband when I have a food emergency.  I figure working in restaurants since he was 14 years old has given him more knowledge from which to draw then I am proving to have.

“Honey, what is wrong with these beans?”, I ask worriedly.  “It’s fine.  Just keep a lid on the pan and keep them simmering.  At some point they are going to get soft” , he assures me.

I  am eyeing the clock seeing that it is nearing 9pm and my bed is calling me.  I’ve been up since 5am and the whining voice in my head has started her rant, “But I’m t-i-r-e-d”.

it is time to assess the situation.  I can:

1) let them cook on the burner for another 6 hours ( until hubby comes home) and risk burning down the house in the process.

2) take them off the burner and let them cool in hopes that they haven’t been sitting too long by the time hubby gets home to put them in fridge.

Okay, in retrospect it would have been good to have left a note to let the husband know that number 2 was my choice but I didn’t.  So the next morning it wasn’t a surprise that the beans were still sitting in the pan looking rather colorless albeit soft as can be.  Put them in your mouth now and they’d be soft as butter.  Stinking beans.

So, my DIY beans project left me a little wary about the usefulness of soaking dried beans.  In my experience they aren’t as “recipe ready” as canned beans are.  Maybe I’ll try again sometime.

Lesson learned: Not everything is going to go as planned.   Sleep is worth its weight in beans.  It’s better to have tried than to have not tried at all.  And who needs all that gas anyway?

In regards to the book:  I’m still going to try to finish it before the end of January because I’m just anal like that.

I liked it so much that I will probably bring it up throughout the month of February.  I’m thinking that on Fridays I would like to have a theme for my post such as ” Keeping Focused Fridays” or something else really Type A.  ( I really need some more coffee.)

Saturdays will be for reviewing my goals and writing the goals for the upcoming week.  It would probably be a good idea to refresh myself on Friday in regards to why I am doing this all in the first place…..before I write those goals.

Or  to remind myself of the reasons behind the question I asked myself on Thursday, while I stood in the kitchen staring at a pan of useless beans, “Why am I doing this to myself anyway?” 🙂

Refill on my coffee please?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jenn on January 27, 2012 at 10:10 pm

    Okay, now you are cracking me up… I’m kind of feeling the same way. Right now my brain is so confused about something so simple as a menu plan that I can’t even think straight. What am I doing to complicate it so much and why am I bothering in the first place?

    Reply

  2. Posted by mom on January 30, 2012 at 7:10 pm

    Very funny!!! Make your own applesauce it’s much quicker.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

