When It Rains It Pours

There has been a long silence on both Michael and my blog.  It seems that since mid January we have been inundated with illness, neck issues, work problems and the like.  Recently, our computer crashed-literally.

One of our sweet children dropped it.  I am now conditioned to believe this certain child is giving me a reason to replace lots of things in our house because, apparently, we need an update.  (How long should I wait to update our wall paint do you think?  Should I give it a couple more years?)

Anyway, I am writing from a computer at the library.  I am also grateful for my cell phone which allows me to text and respond to emails.  My fingers have learned to move a lot faster on my phone keyboard.

Updates:

My neck is getting a lot better but I still may see a neurologist since my MRI was clear but I still have funny feelings in my arm and left hand on occassion. 

I saw the Alvin Ailey Dance COmpany perform at the Fox Theater in Atlanta in the beginning of February.  I was inspired to keep working my body hard at the gym-especially on my core after witnessing these AMAZING dancers.  They deservedly received a standing ovation.

I made homeade crock pot applesauce!  I thought this was just for superwomen, but apparently normal folk can do this too.  I wanted to do something with the apples that had gotten soft.  They were organic and I thought it would be a waste of money if I didn’t use them.  Yuuummm!  I found a recipe on AllRecipes.com.  The recipe calls for sugar but you do not need it.  I did puree the apple the second time I made it because my kids don’t like chunky applesauce but either way is good.  Eat it plain or sprinkle some granola on it while it is still hot.  Delicous!

I’ve also tried a number of recipes from Weelicous.com.  I love the Pumpkin Waffle recipe.  A bit heavy for every day but a good Saturday or Sunday morning treat.  I also tried the leftovers with peanut butter and jelly (it was suggested) and I like it a lot.  My kids on the other hand thought it was a little strange.

I’m going to be consigning some clothes at Second Time Around Kids Consignment sale on March 25th and 26th at the First United Methodist Church on the square in McDonough.  Come take a look at the sale if you have the time.  I’ve had success there in the past.  They are still taking consignors and Saturday is half off.

Lastly, if you have the radio on turn the dial to 90.7 New Life FM.  The evening radio announcer Pete Chagnon just hosted my son’s Cub Scout pack at the station this morning.  It was fascinating!  Among many things we learned that buildings, leaves on trees, the general landscape, affect radio waves.  We also got to sit in the room where Pete does the pre recordings.  It is fascinating how far computers and other technology have brought radio.  Give them a listen!

I guess I better go.  I only have 30 minutes left on the computer…..oh how I love and miss my technology.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Jessica on March 11, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    I was wondering where ya’ll went!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

