Happy New Year!

Happy New Year everybody!

I hope you had a wonderful New Year’s Eve with friends and family and took time to pause and reflect on 2010.  My hope for you is that whatever occurred in 2010, you will look forward with anticipation to the joys and triumphs of this coming year.  Those  joys may come in the expected or perhaps the unexpected.  Those triumphs may occur through accomplishments and dreams fulfilled or getting through some tough challenges in one piece.   Embrace each moment and consider them a gift from God- yes, even the struggles.  He is just making you better through them. 🙂

I have spent the past week spending time with God asking for His guidance as I begin this new year.  The broadcasts by Nancy Leigh DeMoss using the acronym “P.R.I.O.R.I.T.Y” has been especially helpful.  I have been strengthened to hold onto the values I hold dear and challenged to change some habits.

I began listening to a series by Beth Moore at OnePlace.com called “Prepare the Way”.  Their description is “if you are wanting God to begin a new work in your heart and life, this week’s on-line lesson is for you.”  I’m always looking for refreshment from God, especially after the busy season of Christmas.  It is a three-part series that will continue this Monday.  If you are interested go to One Place and type “Beth Moore” in the search box and click on “Living Proof”.   It would be a great way to spend some quiet time with God.

Saturday I will be preparing for my week and tweaking my schedule and priorities in response to the things God has placed on my heart this week.

And my precious daughter will be turning three this Sunday.  I cannot believe her third birthday is already here!  I know everybody says that but it is true.  She is very much a little person now with her own opinions, favorite activities, and robust desire to “do it myself”.  She doesn’t want anyone “to make me fun” (make fun of her) and she doesn’t want you to look at her unless of course she is dancing.  And then she wants you to join her.  “Come on let’s dance!” she squeals.

Very much a “little mommy”  (as she is nicknamed at the gym), she will mother her dolls and comfort you if she thinks you are sad.   “Are you sad Mommy?” she will ask as she pats me on my head if I don’t have a smile on my face.  And every so often she gives me a big kiss on the lips with her sweet little bow-shaped mouth… just because.

She will be wonderfully surprised on Sunday when she opens up  the dress up clothes in store for her birthday and the big wheel for her boundless energy.   Happy birthday my sweet, adorable girl!  I love you with all my heart and am so proud you call me “Mommy”!

Have a great weekend everybody and a happy new year to you!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by aunt bonnie on January 7, 2011 at 7:00 pm

    Hi Heather,
    It was fun reading about Abby and getting a peak into her personality. She sounds like a real sweetie. Thank you for the pictures you sent in your card. I love seeing them and how they have grown. I’m sure you have your hands pleasantly full.
    Thank you for your prayers for my Mom. She seems to be holding her own at present. God is always showing us how to live one day at a time in every area of our life. Not always easy.
    I pray you have a great new year ahead full of God’s precious promises, His steadfast grace and the peace His sovereingty brings.

    Reply

    • Thanks Aunt Bonnie. I’m glad to hear the positive news about your mom. Yes, living one day at a time is the only way to go: plan, but hold loosely to those plans. Love you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

