I Was Standing at the Sink….

I was standing at the sink washing the dinner dishes a little while ago and my eyes fell on a photo above my sink.  A good friend of mine gave it to me to remember a fond memory. 

A little while back a group of friends got together at a local sushi place to celebrate our friend’s 40th birthday.  We had so much fun!  Whenever I am with them time passes too fast and my belly and face hurt from laughing so hard.  It is wonderful and doesn’t happen enough. 

This group of women has been through thick and thin.  We have loved on each other and rubbed one another the wrong way.  We’ve laughed, cried, worried, argued, and prayed together.  Like the Velveteen Rabbit, our rough patches are what have made us REAL.  We are true friends, not just acquaintances.

When I looked at the photograph tonight a thought hit me and I wanted to share it.

I don’t know about you but my phone keeps ringing with recorded messages promoting candidates on both sides of the fence.  Sometimes they are just statements about the candidate’s past political record, but other times they are all out mud swinging fests.

Ads are on our televisions, signs are out on the lawns…you know how it is.  And the promises from both parties is how they are going to save our country, our state, our county, our town.  This person is the newest savior, has the right ideas, is your new best friend.

But when I look at the picture of my friends I know who the real miracle workers are….they are ladies who wake up every day and not just show up to their jobs as wife, mother, teacher, employee, household manager, congregant, community volunteer, but give it their ALL.  The women I know are passionate and tireless.  Yeah, we all have our grouchy moments and occasionally have to be talked off the edge of the cliff.  But they are committed day in and day out, without the promise of prestige, notoriety, or fame. 

 They have sacrificed full bank accounts, personal time, energy, material goods, (to just mention a few things) for the greater good of not only their families and friends but ultimately our country. 

When they disciple and discipline their children they are helping their kids to be an asset not only to their family but their community as well.  As they teach their kids how to save and spend wisely their children have a better probability at contributing to our country’s economy rather than taking from it.  When they make personal sacrifices and delay gratification they are bringing up citizens who don’t expect to be catered to.  These women and the everyday people like them, quietly going about their business every day in this country…they are the real heroes….they are the real answer to the problems we face today. 

Unlike politicians their names aren’t going to be written in any history books.  However they will have a lasting legacy.  It will be written in the hearts of their children and their grandchildren.

I’m not against politicians.  There is a place for them.  And there are some really good ones in both parties.  But I think in general the everyday mortal, the American citizen has been treated with contempt and pity when actually they should be honored and applauded.  “We the citizens” are, at the end of the day, what keeps this country going and will influence our country’s future.

I love you ladies and I am so proud  and honored to call you my friends.  Lucky me!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Nicci on October 29, 2010 at 12:59 am

    OK, this made me cry! Love to you H!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

